January publication

Local Anesthetic Resistance Study on BBC News!

Some people are resistant to local anaesthetic, meaning they must endure dental and medical procedures without such pain relief. And we’re only beginning to understand why

Message from the Chair

Dear Department Faculty and Staff:

Many of you are aware of the recent Facebook comments made by a fellow Anesthesiologist who practiced at Denver Health and Children’s Hospital Colorado.

This unfortunate incident reminds us that our department mission is and always will be to provide the highest quality and compassionate care to all our patients. As members of an esteemed academic institution it is our responsibility to conduct ourselves with civility and humility at all times. I strongly encourage you to engage your colleagues in continuing to foster a respectful, collaborative, and compassionate department culture.

As always, please do not hesitate to reach out if you need my assistance or guidance.

Vesna Jevtovic-Todorovic, M.D, Ph.D, M.B.A
Professor and Chair

November publication

Welcome to the Department

Prior to joining our department, Dr. Flores was an Assistant Professor at Baylor College of Medicine. He completed his residency at Baylor as well. He then completed a fellowship in Orthopedic and Regional Anesthesiology at Texas Orthopedic Hospital in Houston. Dr. Flores will be a member of our Acute Pain team.

Dr. Sam Gilliland joined the Liver Transplant team in early August of this year. He completed his residency at the University of Colorado Denver where he also served as Chief Resident. Prior to joining our department, Dr. Gilliland completed a Critical Care Fellowship at Washington University in St. Louis.

Dr. Inge Tamm-Daniels joined the Department from Stanford University where she completed a fellowship in Regional Anesthesiology. Previously, she completed her residency in Anesthesiology and internship in General Surgery at the University of Wisconsin. Dr. Tamm-Daniels will be working on the acute pain team.”

Dr. Ramakrishna (Ramu) Gumidyala previously worked at the San Mateo Medical Center in California. Dr. Gumidyala completed his Internship and residencies in Anesthesiology and Internal Medicine at the University of Wisconsin. He will be serving as the Associate Medical Director at Lone Tree.

July publication

Anesthesiology Residency Graduation 2016

Where our graduates are going...

Slade Bigelow: Private practice in Colorado Springs.

Nathaniel Brown: CT fellowship at University of Colorado

Melvina Cheung: Private practice in San Francisco.

Terry Easton: Private practice in Indiana.

Zach Hesse: Private practice in Montana.

Luke Johnson: Private practice in Denver (Lutheran).

Tam Nguyen: Pain Medicine fellowship at University of Colorado.

Jason Papazian: OB Anesthesia fellowship at University of Colorado.

Aaron Persinger: Regional Anesthesia fellowship at University of Colorado.

Shaina Richardson: Private practice in Reno, Nevada.

Justin Schulte: CT fellowship at University of Colorado.

Jillian Vitter: Regional fellowship at Ochsner Clinic, New Orleans.

Scott Vogel: Neuroanesthesia fellowship at University of Colorado.

Jennifer Wu: Private practice in Houston, Texas.

Erin Zurflu: Private practice in Nevada.

Awards presented to Residents

Faculty Teaching Awards

June publication

Congratulations to Dr. Joy Hawkins for winning 2016 SOAP Distinguished Service Award